Latinos and the Pulitzer prize: a general review

Repeating Islands


A report by Andrea Rodés for Al Día News.

This afternoon, at the University of Columbia, New York, the winners of the Pulitzer Prizes will be announced. The Pulitzer prize was ceated in 1917 by the St. Louis Post Dispatch journalist Joseph Pulitzer, in order to recognize the best journalistic and artistic works of the year.

The Pulitzer, considered among the most prestigious journalism awards in the world, are divided into 21 categories, from the best breaking news coverage and research published in a physical or digital media,  to the best works of photography, commentary or literary fiction, from novels to musicals.

The main prize, however, is the gold medal given to a media outlet in recognition of their work in the category of “public service”.

“It’s my duty to see that they get the truth,” Joeph Pulitzer once said, “accurately so that they may be wisely guided by its light.” Joseph…

View original post 695 more words


Categories: Featured

Reply At Your Own Risk. Leave The Dumbfuckery At The Door.

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s